For someone with a degree in writing I sure hate blank pages…

June 23, 2008 at 2:16 pm (Uncategorized)

Maybe hate is not the correct word.  Dread?  Alright.  I have nothing to write about.  Web 2.0 is like the ultimate vanity press.  Guess that’s why I see so many self-publishing adds on Facebook.  Which almost distracts me from turning my friends into vampires or werewolves, or sending them plants to save the rainforests.  You know what I pretty much never do online?  Blog.  I can see the uses for libraries and in practical ways, just not really the personal social ones.  Which is pretty strange coming from someone who used to write pretty much every day. 

That is all I have for now.  Plus I have a freeway full of traffic to drive home with.  Which we all know is very inspiring.  Then I will use Web 2.0 in my personal life instead of for work.  🙂

Alyson

2 Comments

  1. Bek said,

    You made it!

  2. mrbesbol said,

    I completely identify with the theme of your first post, Alyson. As a (sometimes? former? aspiring?) writer myself, I have a natural loathing of (anxiety about, aversion to) blank pages, a.k.a. potential prose.
    Your bit about the “ultimate vanity press” is exactly how I’ve always viewed all this bloggy business. But hey, if it gets us writing, who cares who’s reading it, right? The writing’s the thing…
    And it’s certainly more inspiring than 680N at rush-hour.
    Bill

Leave a Reply

